A new Connecticut hemp law that allows unlimited hemp production and the sale of foods containing CBD leaves New Hampshire as the lone New England state with no hemp program.
The law signed Thursday by Gov. Ned Lamont sets up Connecticut hemp production as soon as this year.
Details of the Constitution State’s hemp law include:
- Connecticut’s grower licenses will be valid for two years.
- Growers will be charged $50 application fees and $50/acre licensing fees.
- Connecticut hemp processors will be charged $250 in licensing fees every year.
- The law includes a lifetime ban on felons for growing licenses.
- Hemp products will be tested not just for THC content but also for microbial contaminants, pesticides and heavy metals.
- Connecticut will expressly allow CBD and other hemp extracts in food, saying hemp-derived cannabinoids will not be considered contaminants.
- The law removes hemp from Connecticut’s definition of marijuana.
The Connecticut hemp law comes after a landowner sued last year to force the state to open opportunities for hemp farming.
Subscribe to our Newsletter